The Yum-Yuck Principle

Wendy Renée
3 min readSep 6, 2017

It’s funny how the simplest lessons in life can be the most profound. In these next two blog posts, I will reveal how I changed my life by practicing two very simple methods. These methods might work for you as well. Let’s start with the first one …

A few years ago, I attended the Perfect Health retreat at the Chopra Center. I had heard Deepak Chopra speak many times before, but this time there was something he said that resonated with me so strongly that I haven’t been able to shake it. And I never want to. Deepak wasn’t expected to speak during this particular retreat, but he happened to pop in for about five minutes to say hello.

It was a small group of about 20 people. I was sitting in the front row, staring up at his bright, glittery red glasses (yes, that’s right) and his shiny, red tennis shoes (yes, that’s right, again). I was kind of in a daze and not really paying attention, because I was so dang mesmerized by his outfit. All of sudden, my mind snapped out of it and all I could hear was Deepak saying eight tiny, yet profound words, in his Indian accent …

“YOU HAVE TO FEEEEL YOUR WAY THROUGH LIFE.”

In my mind I’m thinking, My gosh. That’s brilliant! You have to feeeel your way through life! Wow. And this whole time I’ve been bypassing my heart with all my decisions. I need to start with my heart! This changes everything! By the time my revelation had really sunk into my crazy mind, the red glasses and shoes went walking out of the room. Wait! Come back!

I sat there dumbfounded by this new approach to living (feeling) my life. I began practicing this new principle immediately with every single thought that popped into my mind. I started calling this principle the Yum-Yuck Principle. Every thought, feeling, or action either made me feel yum or yuck. It was really that simple and straightforward. I was constantly asking my inner self if my thoughts, feelings, and actions made me feel yum or yuck. I noticed a drastic shift in all areas of my life.

AS A RESULT OF THINKING YUMMIER THOUGHTS, I BEGAN TO LIVE A YUMMIER LIFE.

The more you practice the Yum-Yuck Principle, the more you will discover how many thoughts, feelings, and actions are plain yuck. These yucky thoughts, feelings, and actions are what you need to erase in your life. Immediately. The longer you keep them, the longer you will be unhappy, and the longer you will be controlled by ego.

YOU DESERVE TO BE ON THE PATH OF SPIRIT … THE PATH OF LOVE … THE PATH OF YOUR HEART.

You will also discover things in your life and environment that are yuck. Do you like where you live? Does it make you feel yum or yuck? Maybe it’s time to move. Do you like your job? Does it make you feel yum or yuck? Maybe it’s time for a career change. And what about your relationships? Are there any relationships that make you feel yum or yuck? Maybe it’s time to leave some relationships behind and develop new ones that make you feel yum. Does that mean you are abandoning them or that you hate them? Emphatically, no. That just means staying in certain relationships keeps you on the path of ego and yuck.

YUCK!

To live a life of spirit and yum, sometimes you have to let go of things in your life that no longer serve you. I had to do this myself. It wasn’t easy, but I’m happier because of it. I encourage you to give the Yum-Yuck Principle a try in your own life.

In the next blog post, we are going to take the Yum-Yuck Principle up a notch. You will learn another simple method that can create an even yummier life! It’s all about the yum.

YUM. YUM.

Please click on the clapping hands if you enjoyed this post. Kind comments are greatly appreciated, too. And of course, feel free to share my words if your heart desires. 💋

🦋 Breathe more of Wendy on wendyrenee.com 🦋

--

--

Wendy Renée

Writer. Speaker. Coach. Wonder Woman. Leader of Love.